Jan 30, 2017

Don Chapman is elected new commission chair

District 3 Commissioner Don G. Chapman has been elected chairman of the Sandoval County Board of Commissioners.

The second-term commissioner representing a district that spans most of northern Rio Rancho was selected for the leadership position by a unanimous vote at the commission’s opening meeting for the year on January 12, 2017. His term as chairman will run for one year.

As chairman, Commissioner Chapman will preside over commission meetings and work with the county manager in setting the agenda for those meetings.

Commissioner Chapman assumes the chairmanship as the commission welcomes three new members. District 2 Commissioner Jay Block, District 4 Commissioner Dave Heil and District 5 Commissioner Ken Eichwald all began their first terms this January, following their elections last November.

“I’m excited about the possibilities for this new commission,” Commissioner Chapman said shortly after the meeting in which he was named chairman. “Everything’s on the table as we look to move the county forward.”